Unhappenings

unhappenings

 

By: Edward Aubry

Narrated by: Josh Hurley

GoodReads Summary: When Nigel Walden is fourteen, the UNHAPPENINGS begin. His first girlfriend disappears the day after their first kiss with no indication she ever existed. This retroactive change is the first of many only he seems to notice.

Several years later, when Nigel is visited by two people from his future, he hopes they can explain why the past keeps rewriting itself around him. But the enigmatic young guide shares very little, and the haggard, incoherent, elderly version of himself is even less reliable. His search for answers takes him fifty-two years forward in time, where he finds himself stranded and alone.

And then he meets Helen.

Brilliant, hilarious and beautiful, she captivates him. But Nigel’s relationships always unhappen, and if they get close it could be fatal for her. Worse, according to the young guide, just by entering Helen’s life, Nigel has already set into motion events that will have catastrophic consequences. In his efforts to reverse this, and to find a way to remain with Helen, he discovers the disturbing truth about the unhappenings, and the role he and his future self have played all along.

Equal parts time-travel adventure and tragic love story, Unhappenings is a tale of gravely bad choices, and Nigel’s struggle not to become what he sees in the preview of his worst self.

So I used my Kindle Unlimited to listen to this one. However, it wasn’t until I started thinking about my own review that I glanced through some of what people were saying about this book.

I think this is going to be one of those love it or hate it books once more people get a chance to read this. The story is one that makes you think in a way that may be uncomfortable for some and very confusing for others.

Time travel always finds a way to throw me off. I mean, we’re all linear thinkers and I do pride myself for being able to grasp things easily some people find difficult. But I can see where parts of this crazy book will completely befuddle the huddled masses.

So in the beginning I’m curious about the story behind the story. It opens up in the young life of Nigel and his experiences with unhappenings. Granted, at first he has no clue what’s going on. But upon meeting Penelope, one would think he would ask more pertinent questions regardless of if she will answer them. And you’d think that little miss, I know everything you don’t would slip up a time or two to give a few more clues. But then, maybe that’s the point, the reason to keep reading.

I did enjoy this. I couldn’t stop listening. Towards the beginning of the end, though, the villain’s motives were still very unclear. The “why” behind the story just seems to peter out. So I kept listening, wondering…

Twists and turns almost overwhelm the end of the book. Yet I followed every convoluted turn of events until finally I gained a certain understanding of character motivation.

I believe, if you’re a true time traveling fan, you will complete enjoy this book and sink into the twists and turns with a fond, “yeah, now we’re getting somewhere.”

Join Amazon Kindle Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial

Introducing Amazon Fire – $49

 

Click here to go to Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

