Delicate Thorns

Delicate Thorns

By: Ainsley Shay and Miranda Hardy

Narrated by: Angie Hickman

GoodReads Summary: Waking up on a deserted island with no memory of who you are is scary, but when your throat burns for the thirst of blood, it’s terrifying.

For months, Jasmine has managed to feed her new hunger in solitude while teetering on the brink of insanity. As her delirium increases to a new level, an unthinkable opportunity offers an escape into a world of cruelty, vengeance, love and lust. Now the need to remember her past becomes vital if Jasmine plans to survive.

Delicate Thorns is a 26,000 word New Adult novella that brings an interesting twist to the vampire paranormal genre.

(I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.)

Delicate Thorns is such an appropriate title for this work. From the short form to Angie Hickman’s voice, everything seems like a gentle bubble that if you touched it, it would break into a thousand glimmering drops.

The movement of the rising action drifts daintily into the subtle drama of the climax, leaving me feeling that this is simply a few diary entries read aloud by the one who’d forgotten she’d written anything down.

I’m glad to see that other people like this story. I must be one of the few for whom this story does not resonate.

The imagery is interesting, lacking certain clichés most writers of intimate scenes fall into. In that, it was a bit different.

However, it just feels so soft that I can’t quite grip it in my mind. Even just after finishing it for the second time, I’m losing details that probably should have been able to stick with me.

Others have said that it is refreshingly different. Maybe I’ve read way too many vampire stories, but other than the amnesia, figuring out who you are once you’ve become one of the monsters is a constant in this idea of a story.

I really wish I’d been blown away. But I simply was not. Jasmine’s story simply lacks the grit that I enjoy.

Click here to go to Amazon

 

 

Leave a Reply

