Southern Charm

southern charm

By: Stuart Jaffe

Narrated by: Stuart Jaffe

GoodReads Summary: When Max and the gang are hired by an art forging ghost to find a lost painting, Max thinks it’ll be easy money. But villains old and new come out, and the race is on for the painting and the secrets it contains. A race that will lead Max into a mess of magic spells, haunted houses, ancient curses, and even Blackbeard the Pirate.

Maybe I’m a little biased, but having listened to a few of Mr. Jaffe’s self-narrated books, I just like him. I like the stories. I like the narration. I keep an eye out for his books. I’m slowly building a collection. So what I’m trying to say is, go find Mr. Jaffe’s work. You will not be disappointed.

Max Porter is as addictive for me as Harry Dresden. And if Dresden were a bumbling amateur with no magic, they would be more similar.  Actually, the only comparable element is the fact that there are ghosts and witches in both. So, I’m not sure why I’m so addicted to each of these characters.

Max and Sandra’s relationship just gets better. By better, I mean that they recognize their issues. Most fictional couples faced with being together 24/7 revel in it. They just adore each other. Their relationships never falter. However, Max and Sandra (both of them!) understand that being together so much is not beneficial to any relationship, even their own.

I (almost) never have spoilers in my reviews, and I’m not going to start now. Just know that Drummond is the same hard-boiled ghost P.I. Some of the bad guys return to put a kink into things. And the difference between book one and book two, is a year, some soft cases behind them and the willingness to even help ghosts (but, of course, you knew that was coming just looking at the next books in the series).

I see subtle growth in Max Porter. He’s not quite the academic pansy he started out to be. His experience and instructions from Drummond give him just a bit more grit. I still see him in the traditional professor stereotype, nowhere close to the heroics of Indiana Jones, but this book shows that maybe he’s taken the pocket protector out and just risks the pen leakage.

Once again, I highly recommend the audio version of this. There’s nothing like a writer with a good voice and a superb audio producer giving life to a world of his own making.

Click here to go to Amazon

 

 

Leave a Reply

