Rebels: The Reverians, Volume 2

Rebels

By: Sarah Noffke

Narrated by: Elizabeth Klett

GoodReads Summary: Em returns to Austin Valley, but there are many things that don’t add up about her homecoming. She’s left Rogue behind and is adamant that Dr. Parker must leave the Valley with her. Zack agrees to help her, but soon learns she’s not telling the whole truth when Rogue comes storming back. With the threesome reunited, they work on a plan to stop the Defect crisis. Their plan places all of them at risk, but Em knows they have no other choice. Hundreds of kids are being injected with poison every day and Nona, her sister, is one of them. Em Fuller has one mission and will stop at nothing to achieve it: Bring the government of Austin Valley down.

(I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.)

After the head-butting-against-the-wall feeling the first installment left me with, Rebels didn’t have that much more shock value. (And this is in no way a negative thing. It made me feel the way I do after a really good debate with my hubby.)

I mean, you know that Em’s family is crap (although there is one minute in there where I wanted to slap Dee in the face), you know Ren is an ass, you know the love between the three, Rogue, Em and Zack. So this part of the story isn’t going to surprise you…too much.

So it’s not the content, so much as the fluid, feminine writing that kept me going. I didn’t even realize I was nearing the ending until the very last few moments. Then I was…oh, there it is.

Unfortunately, it is a strategic place to end this second installment, and it really drives home the fact that you HAVE to read the next one.

I just want to see the justice for the sadistic, power-hungry monsters. I want to hear their final words and KNOW that’s the end for them.

I have to say, normally I cannot stand books that end this way. Normally, I would think, ah, another one and toss it aside never to revisit that world ever again. However, this one, this one, dear readers…. Noffke just reaches out and grabs you with her turns of phrase, her almost, but not quite, purple prose. And I all can think about is the content, the unfairness of this world.

I’ve pushed aside every comparison to any other dystopia I’ve read and studied, because the tropes are there, people. I’ve set aside disbelief (Thank you, Mr. Cameron Jace, for teaching me that) I just enjoyed the story. I haven’t don’t that in a while, and it is completely refreshing to fall into a book like I haven’t since, The Merchant Adventurer.

Once more, I didn’t look at reviews for this one until I finished. I’m very hard pressed to find less than three stars. In fact, out of 37 on Amazon (as of today) 95% are 5 stars. So that has to tell you something prospective readers.

The only complaint I ran across is something like, too much romance, or repetitive romantic descriptions. But, if you’ve read/listened to the first book, you know that is a character flaw of the MC narrating the story. That’s her focus. Therefore, there’s less strategy and more heart-tugging. Sometimes you’re just in the mood for that. Sometimes, you don’t want your head throbbing with the overabundance of people talking about and repeating the plan, or laying out the consequences for you when you understand that on your own.

Here’ my recommendation: Buy all three at once. You will not be satisfied any other way. If you only read one trilogy in Noffke’s dreamwalking world, make it this one and just buy them all at once.

P. S. Elizabeth Klett is Em. She is the perfect narrator for this character.

Click here to go to Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

