We Were Liars

we were liars

We Were Liars –  less a mystery, more a puzzle slowly put together

Written by: E. Lockhart

Narrated By: Ariande Meyers

GoodReads Summary:

A beautiful and distinguished family. A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive. A revolution. An accident. A secret. Lies upon lies. True love. The truth.   We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.  Read it. And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Before I listened (yeah, I got my hands on an audio version), I ran through the reviews. I think this book just kept coming up on my “news feeds” so often that I had to look. Some reviewers rave about We Were Liars. In my little circle of books and reviews, the repetition of “unreliable narrator” kept calling to me. I love those worlds where I, as the reader, have to actually think.

And then, some really hate this book. By this time, I just had to, just to see what all the fuss was about and to weigh in with my opinion. I may be a shy, book-loving geek, but I have opinions. Cross me at the wrong time and you’ll hear an earful about my opinions. So just remember, this review, is only my opinion.

Lockhart made the journey smooth with decent writing and just the right amount of hints and clues dropped (or not dropped, in some cases.) However, without giving anything away to those of you who have yet to enjoy this story, I did figure out the puzzle long before the coup de grâce. Therefore, I see this lovely story as one where I enjoyed the journey rather than the destination.

I felt that Adriande Meyers narrated with just the right timbre of girl-child without the potentially whiny, rich white girl voice that grates on my nerves. The pacing was spot-on. The whining remained in the appropriate places. (I mean, the character is a poor little rich girl.)

I noticed that many reviewers complained about the form E. Lockhart took when putting the story on the page. I can see where that could have annoyed me. But I can also see the truth in the art. Most people do not see a story as a work of art, therefore subjective. Most people just want the story, they want the emotions that go with the story. They do not want art and are disappointed when authors prove that the written work is a form of art. Of course, my opinion on this doesn’t really matter, when I had the story read to me while I worked.

Having a story read to me also has the benefits of hiding all the grammar problems I may magnify when reading the printed version.

Leave a Reply

