Southern Bound

Southern Bound

Southern Bound

By: Stuart Jaffe

Narrated by: Stuart Jaffe

GoodReads Summary:

It was supposed to be a new beginning – good job, good pay, and a lovely home in North Carolina. But when Max Porter discovers his office is haunted by the ghost of a 1940s detective, he is thrust neck-deep into a world of old mysteries and dangerous enemies. One in which ghosts, witches, curses, and spells exist. One in which a simple research job can turn deadly.

(Free audio copy for honest review )

Yup, I judged the book by its cover. I thought, meh, crappy noir. But I do like listening and writing reviews. And since the author traded a free copy for the review, what could it hurt?

Nothing, as it turns out. Southern Bound was interesting from the beginning. Even though I’m used to characters who either completely flip out when faced with a ghost or are a bit complacent, I thought Max was just a pansy. He at first chose to ignore what was obvious right before his eyes. For a researcher, the initial lack of curiosity, the passive interest in solving a mystery completely through me off.

But then, it gets under his skin. Picking up one clue after another, interviewing people, putting the pieces together starts to work for him despite or in spite of the danger that comes with it.

The story flows easily without force from one scene, one clue to the next. The characters have led Stuart Jaffe to a fantastic conclusion.

Mr. Jaffe does a wonderful job with the narration. Sometimes, I wonder if listening to the book makes a difference in how much I enjoy it. The narrator has to be good. The story has to be engaging. So I definitely recommend the audible version having skipped the printed one.

I enjoyed this book so much, I’m already thinking of spending an audible credit on the sequel and kind of irritated that the next two books aren’t already there.

UPDATE: I did get the next book. I’m purposely waiting until I can’t anymore to listen to it. I’ve found other works by Mr. Jaffe and he’s quickly rising on my fav list. You’ll see when I post my other reviews.

Leave a Reply

